Posted on

City, school nominations close today at 5 p.m.

By Bob Steenson,

Anyone who wants to see what it’s like to serve on a city council or a school board has a few remaining hours to gather signatures and hand in their nomination papers.

Filing for the Nov. 5 election closes at 5 p.m. today (Thursday). City council and mayor nomination papers must be turned in to the County Auditor’s Office in the courthouse. School board nomination papers must be turned in to the school secretary’s office.

As of Wednesday afternoon there were still many city races in the county where the number of seats available was greater than the number of candidates who had filed so far.

In Charles City, incumbent Keith Starr has filed for re-election. The other incumbents, Michael Hammond and Dan Mallaro, have indicated they are not seeking another term, meaning there will be at least two new council members elected in November.

So far, only one other person, Phillip Knighten, has filed for a Charles City council seat.

According to information from the Floyd County Auditor’s Office, here are the seats available this election and the people who have filed nomination papers so far in the city elections as of Wednesday afternoon:

• Charles City – council (3 seats) – Phillip Knighten, Keith Starr.

• Colwell – mayor – none filed; council (5 seats) – none filed.

• Floyd – mayor – Trevis K. O’Connell; council (3 seats) – Cleone King, Merlin Holtz.

• Marble Rock – mayor – Jerry Engelhardt; council (2 seats) – John P. Marzen, Chad Schriever, Kaylah Schweizer.

• Nora Springs – mayor – Randy Hassman; council (3 seats) – Robert W. Moen, Steve Blickenderfer, Brian Pederson.

• Rockford – mayor – Scott Johnson; council (2 seats) – Corey Johnson.

• Rudd – mayor – Donna M. Lunsford and Jeffrey C. Buland; council (3 seats) – Karin Winters, Craig Reinke.

• Charles City Schools – 2 seats open.

• Rudd-Rockford-Marble Rock Schools – 3 seats open.