Posted on

Charles City Rotary Club gives community awards at ‘Pass the Buck’ night

Charles City Rotary Club gives community awards at 'Pass the Buck' night

By Bob Steenson,

Charles City Rotarians gathered Monday evening for the club’s first outdoor “Pass the Buck” night to hand out community awards and officially welcome the new club president.

Typically held as a sit-down dinner with family, friends and community members invited, the event this year was held at Lion’s Field Park with only members and honorees to allow for appropriate social distancing.

Outgoing President Kay Winkelman was presented an honorary gavel by the new club president, Ann Troge.

The annual Rotary Club Pass the Buck night honors community members and club members in a variety of categories. Awards given out Monday were:

• Craig Haberkorn received the Leo Lidd Vocational Service Award, given to a community member whose business life best exemplifies the Rotary Four-Way Test: “Is it the truth? Is it fair to all concerned? Will it build goodwill and better friendships? Will be beneficial to all concerned?”

• Janet Dunkel and Jackie Moon received the Sam Soifer Community Service Award, awarded to the community member or members who have contributed “Over and Beyond the Call of Duty” in their community life.

• Charles City Rotary Club Scholarships of $1,000 each went to Charles City High School Class of 2020 graduates Tait Arndt and Nathan Schultz.

• Sue Ayers received the 2020 Presidents Award, chosen by outgoing President Winkelman, for a club member who has helped the club and the president have a great year.

• Club member Ryan Parker was awarded the 2020 Paul Garthwaite Memorial Award, the club’s “Rotarian of the Year” award.

• Club member Sheila Koudelka was recognized for serving 17 years as the club’s treasurer. She is handing over the position to Chuck Souder.

• The Paul Harris Fellow recognition acknowledges individuals who contribute, or who have contributions made in their name, of $1,000 to The Rotary Foundation. Recognized this year were Linda Klemesrud, Alan Powell and Ann Troge.

Social Share