Posted on

Comets’ traditional football opponents no longer in same district

Comets' traditional football opponents no longer in same district
Press photo by John Burbridge
Charles City’s Mario Hoefer (No. 5) makes a spectacular catch against Waverly-Shell Rock last season. Hoefter is due to be back with the Comets for his senior season next fall, but the Go-Hawks will likely not be back on Charles City’s schedule as the traditional district/league opponent has moved up to Class 4A while the Comets remain in Class 3A.

Press Staff Report

CHARLES CITY — Breakups of longtime relationships can be hard to bear.

So respect the feelings of the Charles City Comets football team in the wake of losing Waverly-Shell Rock as a district opponent for at least the next two seasons.

With the Iowa High School Athletic Association adding a seventh class (Class 5A), the Go-Hawks and Decorah — both tradition Class 3A district foes of the Comets — have been bumped up to Class 4A.

Charles City has been assigned to the Class 3A-District 3 group for the 2021 and 2022 seasons.

There are some familiar district opponents — Independence, South Tama and West Delaware.

Hampton-Dumont/CAL, a team the Comets regularly scrimmage the Friday before the start of the season, and Center Point-Urbana are also in Charles City’s district.

There are now 36 teams in Class 3A — six teams per each of the six districts.

There will be 16 playoff qualifiers with 12 automatic qualifiers — the top two teams in each district — and four at-large berths.

Each Class 3A team will play five games against teams from their district and four non-district games.

The biggest football class is Eight-Player with 72 teams divided into 10 districts consisting of seven or eight teams each.

Rockford, which advanced to the Eight-Player state championship game in 2018, has been assigned to the Eight-Player-District 3 group which includes Clarksville, Janesville, Riceville, Tripoli, Turkey Valley/Jackson Junction and West Central.

There will be 32 playoff qualifiers in Eight-Player including 30 automatic — top three per distict.

Nashua-Plainfield and North Butler are both in Class A, which has 48 teams divided into eight districts — six teams per district.

Nashua-Plainfield is in Class A-District 3 with AGWSR, BCLUW, Grundy Center, Hudson, North Tama and Wapsie Valley.

North Butler is in Class A-District 2 with Lake Mills, Newman Catholic, North Union, Saint Ansgar, West Fork and West Hancock.

There will be 32 playoff qualifiers in Class A, all automatic — top four per district.

Eight-Player, Class A, Class 1A and Class 2A teams will all play eight regular-season games, but non-playoff qualifiers will be permitted to schedule and play a ninth game at the ends of their seasons.

Social Share