Posted on

Comet boys 1st, girls 3rd at Central Elkader XC Invitational

Comet boys 1st, girls 3rd at Central Elkader XC Invitational
Press photo by John Burbridge
Charles City senior Lydia Staudt, shown here competing at the All-American Invitational held last Saturday at Luther College, was the Comet girls’ lead runner at Thursday’s Central Elkader Invitational while helping her team place 3rd.
The Comet boys placed 1st in their race at the invite.

Press Staff Report

ELKADER — The Charles City boys cross country team — ranked 16th in Class 3A in the latest Iowa Association of Track Coaches poll — placed first out of a seven-team field at the Central Elkader Invitational, Thursday at the Elkader Golf and Country Club.

Comet senior Jacob Vais, coming off two injury-plagued years after an upstart freshman season, placed second with a 5K time of 18 minutes, 1 second.

South Winneshiek senior Isaiah Kruckman won the boys race with a time of 17:35.

With Comet freshmen Xander Graeser and Nick Williams placing fifth and seventh with respective times of 18:37 and 18:54; sophomore Isaac Thompson placing eighth (19:06) and senior Malcolm Lopez placing 15th (19:31); Charles City’s team total of 37 points positioned it well ahead of runner-up North Fayette (61).

Charles City senior Jared Johnson finished a split-second behind Lopez while placing 16th. Senior Clayton Rand finished in the Top 20 for the Comets with a 19th-place time of 20:01.

In the girls varsity 5K race, Charles City placed third with 72 team points, 1 point ahead of North Fayette and behind champion South Winneshiek (47) and runner-up Central Elkader (62).

Senior-sophomore sisters Lydia and Lauren Staudt placed fifth and sixth while leading the Comets with respective times of 22:46 and 23:00.4.

Rounding out the scoring for the Comet girls were juniors Harper McInroy (12th, 23:26), Natalie White (24th, 25:46) and Cloey Usher (26:24).

Senior Aliyah Ortiola (27:35) and junior Kaylin Patten (28:29) were the would-be tiebreakers for the Comets.

Kee senior Haley Meyer won the girls race with a time of 21:00.

Social Share