Community Calendar

Thursday, Feb. 23

Sen. Grassley town hall meeting, 10-11 a.m., Floyd County Courthouse, 101 S. Main St., Charles City

“Think Spring” Class, 5:30-6:30 p.m. at Otto’s Oasis, 1313 Gilbert Street, Charles City. Enjoy light appetizers, drinks and shopping while we put together fresh arrangements with spring themed flowers! Go to http://www.ottosoasis.com/product/plants-and-gifts/extras/charles-city-class to sign up and prepay for your spot.


Friday, Feb. 24

22nd Annual Chili Cook-off, 11 a.m. at the Knights of Columbus Hall, 502 Clark Street.


Saturday, Feb. 25

Dance Against Cancer, 7-11 p.m. at the Charles City Elks Lodge. To benefit the Floyd County Cancer Friends. Tickets available $12 in advance at First Citizens National Bank or $15 at the door. 21 and over.


Thursday, Feb. 29

Fudge Sale, New Hampton, Mercy Lobby, 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. The cost is $5 per half pound. Stop in or find an order form on Mercy-New Hampton Facebook. Many wonderful flavors available.


Friday-Saturday, March 3-4

The Charles City Middle School presents the spring play, E.B. White’s Charlotte’s Web, 7 p.m. at 500 North Grand Auditorium. Directed by Marie Conklin and Toni Smith. Free will donation.


Saturday, March 4

Rudd Historical Society Breakfast at the museum at 400 Chickasaw in Rudd, 7:30-10 a.m. Menu: biscuits and gravy, sausage, omelets made to order, homemade bread and jam for toast, home baked goodies, pancakes, and beverages.

Kids’ Day at the Museum, 9:30-11 a.m., Floyd County Historical Museum, 500 Gilbert St, Charles City.

Cattlemen’s Banquet, 6 p.m. at The Pub at the Pinicon. Enjoy a prime rib dinner followed by dancing to Endless Summer Band. Tickets $20 in advance, $25 at the door.

Riverside Cemetery’s Trivia Night, 7 p.m. at Charles City High School. Doors open at 6:15 pm with the game beginning at 7:00 pm. Snacks and drinks will be served to each table throughout the night.


Tuesday, March 7

Parade of Bands, 7 p.m. at New Hampton High School. Concert will feature bands in the New Hampton school district with a combined 5-12 performance at the end.


Saturday, March. 11

Fossil Prairie Center Foundation Annual Spring Banquet, Gilbert’s Sale Yard, 1406 US-218, Floyd. For questions please Contact Jon Schneckloth at (641) 228-2857.


Sunday, March. 12

Daylight Saving Time starts.


Monday, March 13

Spring break for CC schools begins (ends March 17)


Saturday, March 18

Community Breakfast, 7:30-10 a.m., Charles City VFW Post 3914, 1506 North Grand Ave. Serving Scrambled eggs, sausage links, biscuits & gravy, fresh fruit, coffee, milk or orange juice. Free Will Donation. Public welcome.


Monday, March 20

Classes resume in CC


Friday, March 24

End of third quarter in CC school


Sunday, March 25

Cedar River Shiver, 4 p.m. Registration is a 1 p.m. at the boat ramp.

Youth Enrichment Center Grand Opening, 4-11 p.m., Floyd County Fair, 2516 7 Mile Rd, Charles City. Free admission to Dueling Pianos, as well as live auctions and raffles. Meal provided at a small cost.


Monday, March 27

K-12 conferences for CC schools, 11 a.m. to 7 p.m. (no school for students)


Tuesday, March 28

Beginning of fourth quarter for CC schools


Thursday, March 30

Spring Salad Luncheon, 11 a.m. to 12:30 p.m., Trinity United Methodist Church, 601 Milwaukee Street. Features a large variety of salads, desserts and a beverage. Tickets are $8.


Sunday, April 16

Easter


Monday, April 17

No school in CC for students. Staff professional learning day


Thursday, May 25

CCHS seniors last full day


Sunday, May 28

CCHS graduation


Monday, May 29

Memorial Day

No school in CC


Wednesday, May 31

Early dismissal in CC schools for summer break: 11:15 a.m. for Elementary and 11:10 a.m. for MS/HS

NO COMMENTS

LEAVE A REPLY