Community Calendar

Friday, June 22

Charles City Community Blood Drive, 1:30-5:30 p.m. at Messiah Lutheran Church, 705 3rd Ave. Sign up to save a life today online at lifeservebloodcenter.org or by calling 800-287-4903.

Relay for Life, 5-9 p.m. at Central Park.


Saturday, June 23

Charles City Challenge/Whitewater Events, on the Cedar River Whitewater Course; includes Innertube Intermission, between kayak heats.

Farmers market, 9 a.m.-noon at Central Park in Charles City.

Floyd County Conservation Community Service Day, 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. at Tosanak Recreation Area near Marble Rock. Bring your own work gloves, branch loppers, water and lunch.

Ionia All School Reunion, 2 p.m. at Ionia Hide-a-Way Lounge.


Monday, June 25

PEO Chapter CY, at Trinity United Methodist Church. This is a social meeting that begins at 7 pm. Fun things to do with grandchildren is the activity, led by Vonda Cummins and hosted by Cathy Rottinghaus


Tuesday, June 26

Charles City Senior Center, 11 a.m. music by Tim Howland; 6:30 p.m. bingo.

City Improvement Association will meet at 1:15 p.m. in Merten J. Klaus Park. Please bring a chair. In case of rain or extreme heat, the meeting will be at the Floyd County Museum.


Wednesday, June 27

Farmers market, 3:30-6 p.m. at Central Park in Charles City.


Thursday, June 28

Charles City Senior Center, 11:15 a.m. music by Zimmerman Family.


Friday, June 29

Charles City Party in the Park, 5 to 9 p.m. in Central Park.

Charles City Jazz Band Reunion practice, 7 p.m. at the Youth Enrichment Center at the Floyd County Fairgrounds.


Saturday, June 30

Iowa Games Whitewater Slalom Event.

Farmers market, 9 a.m.-noon at Central Park in Charles City.

Charles City Jazz Band Reunion Concert, 7 p.m. at the Youth Enrichment Center at the Floyd County Fairgrounds; freewill donation and cash bar.

“The Wizard of Oz” presented by Stony Point Players at 7 p.m. at the North Grand Auditorium. Reserved-seat tickets can be ordered online at showtix4u.com or by phone at 866-967-8167; remaining tickets will be available at the door.


Sunday, July 1

Bill Riley Talent Contest, 1 p.m. at the Charles Theater.

“The Wizard of Oz” presented by Stony Point Players at 2 p.m. at the North Grand Auditorium. Reserved-seat tickets can be ordered online at showtix4u.com or by phone at 866-967-8167; remaining tickets will be available at the door.


Monday, July 2

“The Wizard of Oz” presented by Stony Point Players at 7 p.m. at the North Grand Auditorium. Reserved-seat tickets can be ordered online at showtix4u.com or by phone at 866-967-8167; remaining tickets will be available at the door.


Wednesday, July 4

Charles City Independence Day Parade, 10:30 a.m., followed by activities throughout the day at Central Park.

Charles City Municipal Band Concert, 7:30 p.m. on the riverfront behind the public library.

Charles City July 4 fireworks, at dusk, along the river from Main Street Bridge.


Saturday, July 7

Farmers market, 9 a.m.-noon at Central Park in Charles City.


Wednesday, July 11

Farmers market, 3:30-6 p.m. at Central Park in Charles City.


Friday, July 13

Charles City Party in the Park, 5 to 9 p.m. in Central Park.


Saturday, July 14

Farmers market, 9 a.m.-noon at Central Park in Charles City.


Sunday, July 15

Charles City Lions Club Fly-in Breakfast, 8 a.m. to noon at the Northeast Iowa Regional Airport; plane rides and helicopter rides available.

CAR Association 2018 Show will be noon to 3 p.m. at Central Park. Registration for the Custom, Antique and Rod Association Show will be 8 a.m. to noon. First 100 registrations get dash plaques. Food and music; trophies will be awarded at 2:30 p.m.


July 18-22

Floyd County Fair.


Wednesday, July 18

Farmers market, 3:30-6 p.m. at Central Park in Charles City.


Thursday, July 19

Country Classic Music Jam, 6:30-8:30 p.m. at Charles City Senior Center.


Saturday, July 21

Farmers market, 9 a.m.-noon at Central Park in Charles City.


Wednesday, July 25

Farmers market, 3:30-6 p.m. at Central Park in Charles City.


Saturday, July 28

Farmers market, 9 a.m.-noon at Central Park in Charles City.


Wednesday, Aug. 1

Farmers market, 3:30-6 p.m. at Central Park in Charles City.


Friday, Aug. 3

Charles City Party in the Park, 5 to 9 p.m. in Central Park.


Saturday, Aug. 4

Farmers market, 9 a.m.-noon at Central Park in Charles City.


Wednesday, Aug. 8

Farmers market, 3:30-6 p.m. at Central Park in Charles City.


Saturday, Aug. 11

Farmers market, 9 a.m.-noon at Central Park in Charles City.


Wednesday, Aug. 15

Farmers market, 3:30-6 p.m. at Central Park in Charles City.


Thursday, Aug. 16

Country Classic Music Jam, 6:30-8:30 p.m. at Charles City Senior Center.


Wednesday, Aug. 22

Farmers market, 3:30-6 p.m. at Central Park in Charles City.


Thursday, Sept. 20

Country Classic Music Jam, 6:30-8:30 p.m. at Charles City Senior Center.


Thursday, Oct. 18

Country Classic Music Jam, 6:30-8:30 p.m. at Charles City Senior Center.


Thursday, Nov. 15

Country Classic Music Jam, 6:30-8:30 p.m. at Charles City Senior Center.


Thursday, Dec. 20

Country Classic Music Jam, 6:30-8:30 p.m. at Charles City Senior Center.

NO COMMENTS